International Paralympic Committee (IPC)
Font Size: A A A A
International Paralympic Committee (IPC)

Paralympic Games

In 1948, Sir Ludwig Guttmann organised a sports competition involving World War II veterans with a spinal-cord injury in Stoke Mandeville, Great Britain. Four years later, competitors from the Netherlands joined the games and an international movement was born. Olympic-style games for athletes with a disability were organized for the first time in Rome in 1960, now called Paralympics.

In Toronto in 1976, other disability groups were added and the idea of merging together different disability groups for international sport competitions was born. In the same year, the first
Paralympic Winter Games took place in Sweden.

Today, the Paralympics are elite sport events for athletes with a disability. They emphasize,
however, the participants' athletic achievements rather than their disability. The Movement has grown dramatically since its first days.

The number of athletes participating in Summer Paralympic Games has increased from 400 athletes from 23 countries in Rome in 1960 to 3,951 athletes from 146 countries in Beijing in 2008.

The Paralympic Games have always been held in the same year as the Olympic Games. Since the Seoul 1988 Paralympic Games and the Albertville 1992 Winter Paralympic Games they have also taken place at the same venues as the Olympics.

On 19 June 2001, an agreement was signed between the IOC and the IPC securing this practice for the future. From the 2012 bid process onwards, the host city chosen to host the Olympic Games will be obliged to also host the Paralympics.

The next Winter Paralympic Games will be held in Sochi, Russia in 2014. The next Summer Paralympic Games will be held in Rio, Brazil in 2016.


Worldwide Partners






International Partner