International Paralympic Committee (IPC)
Font Size: A A A A
International Paralympic Committee (IPC)

Andrew Parsons elected new IPC President



Andrew Parsons of Brazil was elected as the International Paralympic Committee’s (IPC) new President on Friday (8 September) following one round of voting at the 18th IPC General Assembly in Abu Dhabi, UAE. Parsons was chosen ahead of fellow presidential candidates Patrick Jarvis, John Petersson and Haidi Zhang. “I am absolutely delighted and I don’t know what to say. I would like to thank the IPC membership for their trust” said Parsons, who becomes only the third President in IPC’s history.

The new President also paid tribute to his predecessor Sir Philip Craven who stood down today after 16 years in the role. “Sir Philip is a legend, a mentor, an example and an absolute colossus, it’s impossible to describe him with just words. I have very big shoes to fill but I think I learned a lot from him and I will try to pay tribute to him by following in his footsteps.” The President was elected by secret ballot by the IPC membership which is made up of National Paralympic Committees, International Federations, International Organisations for the Disabled and Regional Organisations.

A total of 163 members, plus the Americas Paralympic Committee, were in attendance for Friday’s election and eligible to vote. In the first round 162 members voted and Parsons secured 84 votes having needed an absolute majority of 82 to win. For the role of Vice President Duane Kale was elected in a closely fought race which 160 members voted in. The New Zealand four-time Paralympic champion polled 81 votes while John Petersson polled 79.

Ten Members at Large were elected by the IPC Membership after 6 rounds of voting. The New Board of the IPC consists of the following:

President: Andrew Parsons (Brazil)

Vice President: Duane Kale (NZ)

Members at Large: Debra Alexander (ITU); Mohammed Alhemeli (UAE); Muffy Davis (USA); Rita van Driel (NED); Sung Il Kim (KOR); Luca Pancalli (ITA); Leonel da Rocha Pinto (African Paralympic Committee); Tim Reddish (GBR); Juan Pablo Salazar (COL) & Yasushi Yamawaki (JPN)

Worldwide Partners






International Partner